Content Collection - Copy, move and delete files

The Content Collection is the storage space for LMS learning materials. It is divided into four main areas for storing personal files:

  1. (My Content)
  2. Subject Content
  3. Community Content
  4. Institution Content: Files that need to be made available to a range of subjects/communities, usually from a departmental or faculty level.

Why you might want to use Copy, Move and Delete

My Content

If you access the content collection via the Manage Content tab (top of the screen next to Communities tab) rather than the Manage Content option inside the Control Panel, the default location in the content collection is My Content – your personal storage space.

Manage Content showing My Content page
Manage Content showing My Content page

People sometimes put subject or community files into My Content by accident. While this is not a problem short term, it may become a problem when My Content becomes full (50Mb).

Note: It is not possible to get a quota increase for your personal storage space. Also, if you leave the University, your personal My Content space will be deleted, so that the files stored there become unavailable to the subject/community users.

Reorganise

You may choose to reorganise the structure of a subject folder. If you only have a few files, storing them in the one folder is not a problem, but as the number of files increases, it can become difficult to locate the file you need if they are all jumbled up together. Create some separate folders and then use Copy, Move and Delete to reorganise your folders into a logical structure.

Reuse materials

You may have content from a previous instance of the subject, located in another folder in the content collection.

How to get to the Content Collection

Two options are shown below – both will provide access to Copy, Move and Delete options.

Manage Content from the Control Panel

It is often quickest to access the content collection while working within a subject or community.

Click the right pointing arrow next to Manage Content to display the current subject/community content in the right.

OR

Click the arrow to the left of Manage Content to expand the menu and display other content areas. Click the name of a content area to display it on right of screen.

Location of Content Collection
Location of Content Collection

Manage Content tab (alternate method)

  1. Click the Manage Content tab at the top of the screen. My Content will display to the right, while options for My Content, Subject, Community and Institution content will appear on the left.
Image showing the manage content tab at the top of the screen
Image showing the manage content tab at the top of the screen
  1. Click an option on the left to expand it.
Subject content option is shown in the manage content menu
Subject content option is shown in the manage content menu
  1. Click Courses to expand the list.
The expanded subject content option is shown with the courses folder
The expanded subject content option is shown with the courses folder
  1. Click a folder to display this item on the right of screen.
Selecting a  subject
Selecting a subject
The subject content page
The subject content page

Copy

Copy will take a copy of the file and put it in the location you specify.

  1. Navigate to the file location in the Content Collection.
  2. Click the check box to the left of the file to be copied.
  3. Click the Copy button (appears above and below the file list).
Copy button
Copy button
  1. In the Copy page that appears click the Browse button to select the destination for the copied file. You may need to use the up arrow on the left to move to a different folder.
    Note: If you were in a subject and used the Control Panel to open Manage Content, the default folder will be the subject folder.
    If you were in the Manage Content page (clicked from the blue area at the top of the page) the default folder will be your user folder.
Browse button
Browse button
  1. Click the round radio button to the left of any folder to select it as the destination.
Display of the radio button to the left of the folder of interest
Display of the radio button to the left of the folder of interest
  1. Click Submit (you may need to scroll to find this).
  2. Click Submit again.
  3. A success message will appear in green across the top of the screen.

Move

Move will relocate the file to the location you specify. Moving files within the Content Collection will not break pre-existing links.*

  1. Navigate to the file location in the Content Collection.
  2. Click the check box to the left of the file to be moved.
  3. Click the Move button (appears above and below the file list).
Move button
Move button
  1. In the Move page that appears click the Browse button to select the location for the file. You may need to use the up arrow on the left to move to a different folder.
    Note: If you were in a subject and used the Control Panel to open Manage Content, the default folder will be the subject folder.
    If you were in the Manage Content page (clicked from the blue area at the top of the page) the default folder will be your user folder.
Browse button
Browse button
  1. Click the round radio button to the left of any folder to select it as the destination.
Display of the radio button to the left of the folder of interest
Display of the radio button to the left of the folder of interest
  1. Click Submit (you may need to scroll to find this).
  2. Click Submit again.
  3. A success message will appear in green across the top of the screen.

*There are many ways to link to files. In the majority of instances the LMS makes an automatic link to files you upload. These links reference the file with a permanent URL and this ends with an XID code e.g. https://app.lms.unimelb.edu.au/bbcswebdav/xid-24333_2.
Moving files where the links contain XIDs is not a problem – the LMS still knows where the file is.
The only instance where moving a file may break a link is if you have made a manual link using the file’s web folder URL e.g. https://app.lms.unimelb.edu.au/bbcswebdav/courses/ABCD12129/lectures.doc.

Delete

Delete will delete the specified file from the content collection.

Please ensure you select the correct file before removing as this command cannot be undone. If you attempt to delete a file that is currently linked to a subject, the system will warn you.

  1. Navigate to the file location in the Content Collection.
  2. Click the check box to the left of the file to be deleted.
  3. Click the Delete button (appears above and below the file list).
Delete button
Delete button
  1. You will be asked to confirm the removal/deletion by clicking OK in the dialog box that appears. Click OK and the file will be removed
Delete confirmation message
Delete confirmation message
  1. If the file you are attempting to delete is linked to a page within your subject you will be notified with a second prompt. The prompt shows the file name and gives you the option to see where it is linked (via 360° View). You will need to confirm deletion a second time by clicking Submit.
Confirmation page showing files that are currently linked
Confirmation page showing files that are currently linked

This guide was last updated 02 Feb 2017.
Report any errors or omissions in this guide to lms-guides@lists.unimelb.edu.au

Print this guide